Team Australia’s Roster Announced for Sydney Qualifier

Team Australia’s Roster Announced for Sydney Qualifier

Author: Baseball Australia Media/Thursday, 28 January 2016/Categories: News, Women's , Southern Thunder, Emeralds

Rate this article:
World Baseball Classic, Inc. (WBCI) today announced the managers, rosters and game schedule for the World Baseball Classic Qualifier to be played in Sydney, February 11 to 14 at Blacktown International Sportspark. The winner of the Qualifier, which features Australia, New Zealand, Philippines and South Africa, will advance to compete in the 2017 World Baseball Classic, the fourth installment of the baseball tournament featuring many of the world’s greatest players.

Leading Team Australia in the Qualifier, Manager Jon Deeble who will serve in this capacity for the fourth time during WBC play.
“ I am really looking forward to getting the team into camp and getting underway”, said Deeble. “ After a great ABL season, it’s now our chance to dig in and get after it,  and show the Aussie fans what we have got."

The 28-man roster features nine players affiliated with Major League Clubs, including right-handed pitchers Sam Gibbons (MIN), Peter Moylan (KC), Warwick Saupold (DET) and Todd Van Steensel (MIN); left-handed pitcher Steven Kent (ATL); catcher Matt Kennelly (ATL); infielders James Beresford (MIN) and Logan Wade (MIN); and outfielder Aaron Whitefield (MIN).

Team Australia Roster
Manager Jon Deeble

Last  First Pos. MLB Org.  Current Club
Beresford James INF MIN Rochester Red Wings (AAA)
Blackley Travis LHP FA  
Chambers Steven RHP FA  
D'Antonio Trent C FA  
De San Miguel Allan C FA  
Dening Mitchell OF FA
Erasmus Justin RHP FA  
Gibbons Sam RHP MIN Cedar Rapids Kernels (A)
Harman Brad 2B FA  
Hughes Luke INF FA  
Kandilas David OF FA  
Kennelly Matt C ATL Mississippi Braves (AA)
Kent Steven LHP ATL Mississippi Braves (AA)
Lundgren Wayne RHP FA  
Moylan Peter RHP KC Omaha Storm Chasers (AAA)
Nilsson Mitchell C FA  
Oeltjen Trent OF FA  
Rowland-Smith Ryan LHP FA  
Saupold Warwick RHP DET Toledo Mud Hens (AAA)
Searle Ryan RHP FA
Sutherland David 1B FA  
Timms Matt RHP FA  
Tols Josh LHP FA  
Van Steensel Todd RHP MIN Rochester Red Wings (AAA)
Wade Logan SS MIN  Fort Myers Miracle (A)
Welch Stefan INF FA  
Whitefield Aaron OF MIN GCL Twins (R)
Williams Matthew RHP FA  

The Qualifier will open on Thursday, February 11th with a doubleheader featuring South Africa vs. New Zealand, followed by Philippines vs. Australia. 

The Qualifiers will feature a six-game, modified double-elimination format. The composition of the pools was determined after venues were selected, with consideration given to competitive balance, existing rivalries and each national team’s geographic location.

The winners from each Qualifier will advance to the World Baseball Classic tournament, scheduled for March 2017. Those four teams will join the 12 countries – Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Puerto Rico, United States and Venezuela – that received automatic invitations based on their performance in the 2013 tournament.

Tickets are still available. Click here for tickets

For further information available Team Australia and make sure to get behind the team and show your support on Facebook and Instagram.

Media enquiries should be directed to Team Australia Press Officer Chris Coleman 0412 824 521


Number of views (12633)/Comments (0)


receive the latest BASEBALL NEWS

First Name:

Last Name:



Copyright © Baseball Australia All rights reserved

The Australian Baseball Federation is the peak representative body for baseball in Australia. The Australian Baseball Federation has national and international regulatory and co-ordination responsibilities. In performing those functions the Australian Baseball Federation uses the descriptor: "Baseball Australia".